HELLO 2024, THANK YOU FOR A BEAUTIFUL 2023.

How did time fly by?

I’m typing this from my dormitory room and was just thinking (constantly, in fact, since I came back Shanghai over three weeks ago) that I’m going to really miss staying on campus in my cosy little room here.

I love the view of my newly checked-in dorm, it’s got a great view of our school lawn and library. Ah, the library… my second favorite spot in school after my room. It’s got so so so many awesome books I could park myself there for days on end just soaking them in. I’ll miss the convenience here too: accessibility to food (three meals a day – footsteps away – at super affordable prices), laundry and housekeeping service, and jiffy deliveries of anything under the sky.

I have just a few days more before I check out and leave Shanghai for home Malaysia. Knowing I’m nearing the end makes me treasure my every day, every minute spent here even more.

This which makes me think: How does one deal with not being too attached to something? It’s akin to how I view this about life in general: Why is it that when we are about to “lose” something that we start to appreciate it so much more?

Sigh.

Anyhow, looking back on my 2023, it has been so wonderful to me.

It’s not so much about what I’ve “achieved” on paper but how I felt about myself, my personal growth, did I get better at parts of me that I wished to improve, did I do something good for others. And I guess to do these I kinda had to “achieve” something along the way too.

  • Rang in 2023 in Dali, Yunnan in such a peaceful manner with an ex-colleague/good girlfriend. Then I had an even better NYE in 2023 welcoming 2024 – with a special someone. This goes to affirm my long-held belief that “some of our best days have not yet happened”.
  • In March, after a superbly hectic term, I traveled to Guilin with a batchmate/another good girlfriend Carol. She’s from Brazil and quite new to the country, and I’m glad she asked if we could travel together. She’s such an easy partner to do things together with, which makes me want to be like that too. This also reminded me that solo traveling isn’t always the way to go, which makes sense as the last time I traveled across Northwest China with a few good girlfriends, we had a ball of a time, and they were the most easygoing and accommodating ever. I’m blessed.
  • In May, I hosted a panel session themed “Leadership in China”. It’s probably my first time ever moderating a talk. Grateful for the opportunity. How I got invited was a story on its own altogether. In the same month, our school’s annual TEDx event took place – it was months in the making. I was part of the organizing team in charge of a few speakers, and this has spurred (or reignited rather) my interest in helping to craft and proofread content, speeches.
  • In July, I left for Ghana in West Africa for a 2-month internship. This deserves a post or many posts on its own. It was my first time to the continent and I got to learn so much more about how things are and work over there (at least in Ghana).
  • Traveled to Penang with parents end Aug/early Sept. Mom planned and generously covered everything in this trip. She’s amazing.
  • Left for The Netherlands thereafter for a term of academic exchange. This too in itself deserves another post. But suffice to say, best 3 months ever 🙂
  • During my exchange, a couple of MBA classmates came to visit me in Rotterdam. We also headed to Amsterdam for a day or two. The only trip in which I left the country was to Belgium with Amy, another good gf of mine.
  • In December, I mostly stayed with my youngest brother and sister-in-law. They were very gracious hosts. I also traveled to Spain with a good friend for about a week. And icing on the cake was to spend time with a truly special someone.

Throughout 2023, there were many lessons learned. My time management still isn’t ideal and the most consistent — missed a flight and had some luggage issues which resulted in some hefty, unnecessary costs incurred. I still allow myself to be affected by actions and responses of some people.

But there were also improvements I’ve seen in myself which I’ll keep them for my own diary. Above all, I’m proud to standby having good work ethic and standards and appreciate those who possess them too.

I’d like to end this post and the year with this loveliest feedback (below) from a team in one of my electives in RSM, Erasmus University.

I have my upbringing from my parents and 8 years in journalism to thank for, for the above ❤

Leave a comment